Bring Light to Your Darkness

There is a common misguided advice from society – “Ignorance is bliss.”

From a spiritual standpoint, ignorance means darkness because darkness always leads us to fear, bondages, diseases, pain and sufferings and the eventual death. In my experience, ignorance is definitely not bliss. Bliss only comes with restful awareness, being in your presence.

So what exactly is ignorance? Do you know why you landed in this body? Do you know what bio-memory you carry in this body? Where do you want to go next? Who are you? What for is life?

Read more

Body vs. Soul

The question is – body or soul, which path should a practitioner focus initially?

A few months ago, one of my students who is a Tibetan Buddhist, was puzzled about the large number of Tibetan Buddhist teachers who are suffering from stomach cancer. This raised some fundamental questions such as – Isn’t the meditation on a daily basis supposed to bring health and free one from diseases? Why particularly the stomach cancer, not other forms of cancer? What are they missing in the spiritual practice?

To answer these questions, let us go back to the beginning of Yoga. You may have read that Hatha Yoga is a system conceived as a traditional holistic path in the Vedic Tradition which includes asanas (postures), mudras (hand gestures), pranayama (controlled breathing) and dhyana (meditation) as instruments to balance the body-mind system.  A good level of health and psychological integration must be attained before delving into deeper aspects of yoga – Raja Yoga which primarily concerns with the mind i.e. the more subtle dimension of our existence.

Read more

The Happening

Whenever I receive certain truths as ‘clicks’ in my inner space, without blinking my eyes, it always puts me in such a deep awareness and inner peace. Last week, I had one of those moments which resonated with me and left such a tremendous impact in me that I had to share it with my readers in this article.

Every person’s happening or flow of life is very much dependent on the state of consciousness he or she is established in. According to Paramahamsa Nithyananda, in essence there are 3 levels of consciousness that we can see in our life.

Read more